John Allwood, BA, FCA, Hon LLD

John’s approach to mentoring is to be insightful into the needs of the mentee. He is pragmatic and supportive and his style is to discuss matters in a clear, candid, straightforward and constructive way. John works to ensure the achievement of their full potential, to the benefit of both the individual and the organisation, in their current and future roles. John is a highly experienced CEO and NED. His experience around the Board table in transforming both industries and organisations gives him a depth of experience on which to draw, including MD of Telegraph Media, CEO of Orange UK, CEO of Mirror Group plc and NED and Audit Chair of TalkTalk plc and Carphone Warehouse plc.

Board mandates

Present Non-Executive Appointments

Pepper Foundation (charity) 2011 Trustee
Carphone Warehouse plc 2010 Non executive director Chair of audit committee
TalkTalk plc 2010 Non executive director Chair of audit committee
Romanes Media and Celtic Media Group Ltd 2010 Non-Executive Chairman
University of Exeter 2005 Member of council

Past Executive Appointments

Mecom plc 2008 Finance Director 2007, Chief Operating Officer
Telegraph Media Group Ltd 2004-2007 Managing Director
Orange SA 2000-2004 Executive Vice President Orange UK
Trinity Mirror Plc 2000 Deputy Chief Executive and Chief Operating Officer
Mirror Group Plc 1999 Chief Executive,1998 Managing Director – Regional, Scottish and Irish Divisions,1992-1998 Finance Director
Microtel Communications Ltd (Orange Plc) 1991-1992 Finance Director
News International Plc 1989-1991 Finance Director, Sky Television Plc
1986-1989 Finance Director, News International Newspapers Ltd
1985 Executive Accountant, News International Ltd
1980-1985 Chief Accountant, News Group Newspapers
Joseph Woodhead & Son Ltd 1977-1980 Group Accountant / Associate Director
Spicer & Pegler (Leeds) 1973-1977 Audit Senior

Other Directorships

1998 Thorn Plc – Non Executive Director
1999-2000 Press Association – Non Executive Director
1999-2001 Reed Aviation Limited – Chairman
2000-2001 Sportscard Limited – Non Executive Director